The Ken Nakayama Medal for Excellence in Vision Science

The Medal is in honor of Professor Ken Nakayama’s contributions to the Vision Sciences Society, as well as his numerous innovations and consistent excellence in the vision sciences. The winner of the Ken Nakayama Medal receives this honor for high-impact work that has made a lasting contribution in vision science in the broadest sense. The nature of this work can be fundamental, clinical, or applied. The Medal is not a lifetime career award and is open to all career stages. The recipient will be recognized at the VSS 2019 meeting in St. Pete Beach.

Nomination Process

Nominations can be made by any current member of the Vision Sciences Society, or by those who hold emeritus status. The nominee does not have to be a member of the Vision Sciences Society.

The nomination should include the following: (1) a nomination letter, outlining in detail the excellent contributions and innovations of the nominee. Clear indicators of the nominee’s impact on the field of vision science should be discussed; (2) a curriculum vitae and an up-to-date publication list of the nominee; (3) letters of support by four vision scientists, two of whom are regular VSS members or hold emeritus status.

Nominations for the Ken Nakayama Medal should be submitted by email to

Nominations will be reviewed by an Award Committee, consisting of the five most recent past-presidents of the Vision Sciences Society. Members of the Award Committee and of the VSS Board of Directors cannot serve as nominators.


Nominations Open: November 1, 2018
Nominations Close: January 8, 2019
Recipient Announced: March 1, 2019