2007 Student Travel Awards

Maha Adamo
University of Toronto, Department of Psychology, Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory
Advisor: Susanne Ferber

Seyed-Reza Afraz
Harvard University, Department of Psychology
Advisor: Patrick Cavanagh

Bahador Bahrami
University College London, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience and Psychology Department
Advisors: Vincent Walsh, Nilli Lavie, Geraint Rees

Daniel Baldauf
Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Caltech
Advisors: Heiner Deubel, Richard A. Andersen

Jan Brascamp
Utrecht University and Helmholtz Institute, Department of Biology, Functional Neurobiology Lab
Advisors: Albert van den Berg, Raymond van Ee

Jonathan Cant
University of Western Ontario, Psychology Department & Neuroscience Graduate Program
Advisor: Melvyn A. Goodale

James Christensen
Ohio State University, Department of Psychology
Advisor: James T. Todd

Michael Frank
MIT, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Tedlab
Advisor: Edward Gibson

Jacqueline Fulvio
New York University, Department of Psychology
Advisor: Laurence T. Maloney

Julie Golomb
Yale University, Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program
Advisors: James Mazer, Marvin Chun

Sam Ling
New York University, Department of Psychology
Advisor: Marisa Carrasco

Philip John O’Herron
Johns Hopkins University, Department of Neuroscience Krieger Mind/Brain Institute
Advisor: Rüdiger von der Heydt

Jin Qian
University of Houston, College of Optometry
Advisor: Harold E. Bedell

Kelly Shen
Queen’s University, Visual Information Processing Laboratory, Centre for Neuroscience Studies
Advisor: Martin Paré

Jed Singer
Brown University, Brain Science Program
Advisor: David Sheinberg

Kasey Soska
New York University, Department of Psychology
Advisors: Scott P. Johnson, Karen E. Adolph

Nicole Spotswood
University of California Davis, Center for Mind and Brain in the Department of Psychology, Vision and Action Lab
Advisor: David Whitney

Chris Striemer
University of Waterloo, Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Division, Department
of Psychology
Advisor: James Danckert

Timothy Vickery
Harvard University, Department of Psychology
Advisor: Yuhong Jiang

Edward Vul
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Kanwisher Lab Dept. of Brain and Cognitive Science
Advisor: Nancy Kanwisher

2007 Young Investigator – Zoe Kourtzi

Zoe Kourtzi, PhD

Professor of Psychology at the University of Birmingham

Dr. Zoe Kourtzi has been chosen as the first recipient of the VSS Young Investigator Award.  The Award Committee recognized her many outstanding fMRI studies that characterized the neural loci of shape processing in the human cortex.  Her development of an important, widely used fMRI technique, “event-related adaptation” was also commended.  Her recent fMRI work on the maturation of visual evoked activity in primates is a promising new direction in her research program and demonstrates the diversity of her interests. This creative productive young scientist represents the best qualities of the VSS community.

The YIA award was presented at the Keynote Address on Sunday, May 13, at 7:00 pm.


Vision Sciences Society