Announcing George Sperling as the Recipient of the 2018 Ken Nakayama Medal for Excellence in Vision Science

Congratulations to George Sperling, the third recipient of the Ken Nakayama Medal for Excellence in Vision Science. The Nakayama Medal was created to honor Professor Ken Nakayama’s contributions to the Vision Sciences Society, as well as his innovations and excellence to the domain of vision sciences.The winner of the Ken Nakayama Medal receives this honor for high-impact work that has made a lasting contribution in vision science in the broadest sense.

George is a professor in the Department of Cognitive Sciences, Department of Neurobiology and Behavior, and the Institute of Mathematical Behavioral Sciences, University of California, Irvine. His research has resulted in numerous breakthroughs in vision science. Most recently, George has worked (with Charlie Chubb, Ted Wright, and Peng Sun) on developing efficient methods for measuring the perceptual attention filters that define feature attention.

For more information about George Sperling and an overview of his career, please visit the Ken Nakayama Award page on the VSS website.

George will be presented with the medal and deliver a talk at the 2018 VSS Awards Session on Monday, May 21, at 12:30 pm.

Vision Sciences Society